This article covers some basic questions about how Vector works and how and why Vector uses certain user data.
1. What’s Vector?
Vector is an advanced robot that moves and interacts autonomously. Vector’s onboard processor helps him make sense of the world. Once you set him up, he’s always ready to interact, and he connects to the cloud for his voice features.
2. How does Vector find his way?
Vector navigates the world using his internal camera, accelerometer, gyroscope, and downward-facing cliff detectors, and a process called SLAM (simultaneous localization and mapping).
3. How do Vector’s voice features work?
Vector works similarly to other voice devices. The robot processes what he hears, and if he detects the wake words (“Hey Vector”), a stream is opened to the cloud that includes a fraction of a second before you said the wake words. When a stream is opened to the cloud, Vector’s lights shines blue. If the 3 square lights on Vector’s back are not on, Vector is not streaming. In the cloud, your voice command is translated to text and processed so Vector can understand it.
4. Are the voice commands I give to Vector retained?
No. Voice command audio is deleted after processing. Text translations of commands are saved for product improvement, not associated with a user.
5. Can I turn Vector off?
Yes, you can turn Vector off anytime from a button on Vector’s back. When you turn Vector off, he is powered off. Vector will not detect or react to voice commands, the light on his back is off, and his sensors and camera are off.
6. How does Vector see?
Images from Vector’s camera are processed and stored locally on the robot and are not stored or transmitted to the cloud unless you share them from your phone or tablet.
7. Can Vector take pictures?
Yes. Give a command by voice for Vector to take a picture (“Hey Vector, take a picture”). You’ll hear a simulated shutter sound, and your picture will be taken and saved to Vector’s onboard memory. You can view the picture from the Vector App, and delete, share, or save it to your phone or tablet. Your photos are not sent to or stored in the cloud.
8. How do I teach Vector my name?
When you introduce yourself to Vector, he translates the face he sees into encoded facial features, a set of numbers not recognizable by a person. These numbers are stored locally on the robot and are not uploaded to Anki nor shared, and you can delete this information from Vector anytime by visiting the Meet Vector section of your Vector App.
9. Can I make Vector unlearn my name?
Yes, two ways. Visit the Meet Vector section within the Vector App, and tap the trash can icon near the name of person you don't want Vector to recognize anymore. This will delete saved names and numerical feature sets paired with each name. Or, you can reset your Vector, which deletes information stored on Vector. See below.
10. Can I delete information stored on Vector?
11. How does Vector handle Security and Privacy?